

OISE COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF OISE COUNCIL, held on December 11, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. in the Dean's Boardroom at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Present:	Prof. Yiola Cleovoulou	Prof. Judy Silver
Prof. Glen Jones, Dean	Prof. Diane Farmer	Ms. Janice Spencer
Prof. Kathleen Gallagher, Chair	Prof. Roy Gillis Prof. Lana Stermac	
-	Dr. Sheldon Grabke	Ms. Norin Taj
Prof. Abigail Bakan	Mr. Justin Holloway	Prof. Njoki Wane
Prof. Kathy Bickmore	Ms. Helen Huang	Ms. Heather Watts
Mr. David Boshra	Dr. Katharine Janzen	Ms. Jenaya Webb
Prof. Clare Brett	Ms. Nadiia Kachynska	Ms. Hanna Wickstrom
Prof. Kathy Broad	Ms. Julia Kraveca	Prof. Earl Woodruff
Mr. Aaron Brown	Prof. Normand Labrie	
Prof. Elizabeth Buckner	Mr. Hamidreza Moeiniasl	Ms. Biljana Cuckovic, Secretary
Dr. Andrew Campbell	Prof. Sarfaroz Niyozov	of OISE Council
Ms. Lara Cartmale	Prof. Angela Pyle	
Prof. Charles Chen	Ms. Jeananne Robertson	Secretariat:
Prof. Ruth Childs	Ms. Nicole Ryan	Ms. Daniella Spencley
Prof. Anna Katyn Chmielewski	Ms. Alana Shahfazlollahi	Ms. Lisa Smith
Mr. Alfredo Chow	Mr. Said Sidani	Mr. Doug Ullrich

Prof. Emmanuelle Le Pichon-

Prof. David Montemurro

Vorstman

Guests:

Prof. Ann Lopez, Vice-Chair

Dr. Ahmed Ilmi
Prof. Hilary Inwood
Ms. Phoebe Kang
Ms. Sim Kapoor
I

Mr. Sidney Han	Ms. Sim Kapoor	Prof. Terezia Zoric	
Regrets:	Mr. Terry Louisy	Dr. Coleen Scully-Stewart	
Ms. Vesna Bajic	Dr. Carly Manion	Dr. Cindy Sinclair	
Prof. Nina Bascia	Prof. Rhonda Martinussen	Prof. Shelley Stagg Peterson	
Prof. Joshua Barker	Prof. Lance McCready	Prof. Miglena Todorova	
Prof. Cassie Brownell	Dr. Kenneth McNeilly	Ms. Elena Toukan	
Prof. Carol Campbell	Ms. Henrjeta Mece	Ms. Irene Wandili	
Prof. Scott Davies	Prof. Shahrzad Mojab	Prof. Leesa Wheelahan	
Prof. Joseph Flessa	Prof. Enrica Piccardo	Dr. Lesley Wilton	
Prof. Patricia Ganea	Prof. Michele Peterson-Badali		
Prof. Meric Gertler	Ms. Elisabeth Rees-Johnstone		

Prof. Cheryl Regehr

1.

to exclude from the mandatory testing individuals whose teaching certification relates to Frist Nations language teaching, which is an important step towards preserving the First Nations language programs. Another important update is that the government will hire a third party to administer the mandatory testing rather than faculties of education as initially announced.

In concluding his report, the Dean congratulated students, faculty and staff on a successful; however, busy academic term and wished them a wonderful holiday season and a relaxing break. He invited attendees to join the festivities at the OISE Winter Wonderland community skate event, which was taking place at the Varsity Arena immediately following the Council meeting on December 11, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.

Following the Dean's report, Professor Terezia Zoric spoke briefly on the recent email communication regarding asbestos material found on the ground floor. She noted that, while this email was helpful, it was concerning that asbestos was discovered in the course of the ground floor renovation, and highlighted the importance of having processes in place that discover these materials well in advance of any building renovations. Related to the ongoing job action of Ontario's secondary school teachers, Professor Zoric commented regarding the mandatory eLearning courses that the Government is advocating for and invited OISE faculty and scholars to contribute to the public debate and

B. Equity – On behalf of Professor Ann Lopez, Chair of the Equity Committee who was absent from the