**Present:** 

Prof. Glen Jones, Dean

Prof. Kathleen Gallagher, Chair

Prof. Ann Lopez, Vice-Chair

Ms. Vesna Bajic

Prof. Abigail Bakan

Prof. Nina Bascia

Prof. Kathy Bickmore

Prof. Clare Brett

Prof. Kathy Broad

Mr. Aaron Brown

Prof. Cassie Brownell

Prof. Elizabeth Buckner

Dr. Andrew Campbell

Ms. Lara Cartmale

Prof. Charles Chen

Prof. Ruth Childs

Prof. Anna Katyn Chmielewski

Mr. Alfredo Chow

Prof. Yiola Cleovoulou

Prof. Diane Farmer

Prof. Joseph Flessa

Prof. Roy Gillis

Mr. Justin Holloway

Ms. Helen Huang

Dr. Katharine Janzen

Ms. Nadiia Kachynska

Ms. Julia Kraveca

Mr. Terry Louisy

Dr. Carly Manion

Prof. Rhonda Martinussen

Prof. Lance McCready

Dr. Kenneth McNeilly

Ms. Henrjeta Mece

Prof. Shahrzad Mojab

Prof. Michele Peterson-Badali

Ms. Jeananne Robertson

Ms. Alana Shahfazlollahi

Mr. Said Sidani

Prof. Judy Silver

Dr

#### **Secretariat:**

Ms. Daniella Spencley

Ms. Lisa Smith

Mr. Doug Ullrich

Ms. Phoebe Kang

Ms. Sim Kapoor

Ms. Marianne Lau

Ms. Christine Lowe

Mr. Ian MacLeod

Ms. Natalie Neumann Butler

Ms. Ruth Rogers

Dr. Jesse Sims

Ms. Suryana Thappa

Prof. Terezia Zoric

Ms. Elisabeth Rees-Johnstone

Prof. Cheryl Regehr

Ms. Nicole Ryan

Dr. Sheldon Grabke

Prof. Normand Labrie

Mr. Hamidreza Moeiniasl

Prof. Sarfaroz Niyozov

Prof. Enrica Piccardo

Prof. Angela Pyle

## 1. Acknowledgement of Traditional Land

In the opening statement, the Chair of Council, Professor Kathleen Gallagher, acknowledged the traditional land on which the University of Toronto operates.

### 2. Review and Approval of Agenda

The Agenda for the meeting was approved.

#### 3. Review and Approval of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

Minutes of the April 24, 2019 meeting of OISE Council were approved.

#### 4. Chair's Report

The Chair welcomed new and returning Council members and guests. She then called for nominations from the floor for the position of Vice-Chair of Council. On a motion duly made, seconded and carried:

- Professor Ann Lopez was elected as Vice-Chair of Council for a two-year term.

She then called for nominations from the floor to fill the vacant positons on the Executive Committee. On motions duly made, seconded and carried:

- Professor Kathy Broad was elected as member of the Executive Committee representing faculty;
- Dr. Lesley Wilton

In addition, the Dean highlighted a number of academic leadership positions for which the searches were initiated including two department Chairs (the Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development; and the Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education); and the Associate Dean, Research, International and Innovation.

The Dean reported on the Mathematics Proficiency Test that was announced by the Ministry of Education in late August, 2019. Specifically, Ontario applicants for registration with the Ontario College of Teachers who complete their program of professional education on or after March 31, 2020, will be required to pass the test as a condition of certification. The test will be developed by the Education Quality and Accountability Office and will be administered by Ontario's faculties of education. The Dean noted that, while the faculties of education received some preliminary information from the Ministry, there are sill a lot of details regarding the test to be worked out in the coming months.

Turning to the external reviews of programs taking place in 2019-2020 under the University of Toronto Quality Assurance Process, the Dean highlighted that, over the summer months, four review panels—one for each department—were established, and the site visits were confirmed for February and March 2020. The departments are now finalizing their self-study documents. The Dean thanked departmental leadership, faculty, staff and students for their hard work and commitment to this important process.

The Dean concluded his repot by reporting on the community initiatives and events including the recent completion of the new recruitment website, the OISE Alumni Association's Mentorship Program launch, and the successful fall Open House event. He acknowledged various colleagues across the institute for their hard work and commitment to the success of these important initiatives.

Following the Dean's report, Professor Roy Gillis, spoke briefly regarding the importance of the Mental Healsu3(por)-a -31.02(oe)11.2(ssf)8.9(u)3.3(u)5(c)13flbsein(it)11.3(ia)148Tj 0.489 0 Td ((en)2(t)-2.6()14.2(2(n)2(t)-2

newly established Task Force and that will ensure that specialized training is enhanced and easily accessible to members of the University community. The Dean commented that training programs that deal with classroom interventions, dealing with students in difficult situations, and preventing all forms of violence are important. In addition to disseminating information on such programing, we will investigate the possibility of organizing the specialized training at OISE for faculty and staff.

Ms. Lynne Alexandrova, student in the Department of Social Justice Education, raised a question regarding the availability of unconscious bias training for members of departmental student associations. The Dean responded that such training was offered to academic leaders, administrative staff and members of search committees. He added that the leadership team is exploring the possibility of offering unconscious bias training more broadly.

#### 6. Reports from the Special Committee on Constitutional Revisions

#### x For Approval:

- Proposed Changes to the Constitution & By-Laws of OISE Council

The Chair of Council, Professor Gallagher, who served as Chair of the Special Committee on Constitutional Revisions, informed members that

# x For Information:

Renaming of the Centre for Media and Culture in Education

Professor McCready reported that, in May, 2019 (via email ballot)